Missouri drivers can have their licenses suspended for a multitude of reasons: Reckless driving, speeding and having too many points on your driver’s license. However, one of the most common reasons that Missouri drivers have their licenses suspended is for driving while intoxicated (DWI) by alcohol or drugs.
One of the penalties for a DWI includes license suspension or revocation. In order to regain your driving privileges after a DWI conviction, you must complete or serve the administrative penalties laid out by Missouri law.
There are different levels of penalties depending on if you are a first-offender or not. For the purposes of this post, we will only list penalties for a first offense.
- Up to six months in jail
- Up to $500 fine
- 90-day license suspension
On top of jail time, you may need to complete other court-mandated matters in order to regain your license.
- Ignition Interlock Device: Depending on your situation, a judge may order you to install a device which will monitor to make sure you are sober before you drive.
- Alcohol treatment program: You will likely need to attend a program to remind drivers of the dangers of drinking and driving and provide further help if necessary.
- Reinstatement fee
- SR22 for three years: This document states that you are driving with car insurance.
If Missouri law enforcement takes away your license due to a driving while intoxicated charge, you may find yourself stressed and confused at how you will get your license back. Knowing the requirements for license reinstatement is important.