Fatal accidents will no doubt get the attention of Kansas City’s law enforcement authorities.
They will investigate carefully and, as part of that investigation, will probably try to determine whether a driver had drugs or alcohol in his or her system.
They may also look for other incriminating evidence to prove the driver was intoxicated on alcohol, drugs or some combination of both.
If authorities find evidence of intoxication, it is possible that the driver will face a charge of involuntary manslaughter. Unlike other states, Missouri does not have a separate charge for vehicular homicide.
Depending on the circumstances, people can receive up to 10 years in prison. At a minimum, a person charged with involuntary manslaughter will likely face a felony conviction, jail time and a hefty fine.
Missouri’s drunk driving laws are harsher after injury accidents
Additionally, the person could also face penalties for DUI in Missouri. Under Missouri law, even a first-time drunk driving charge can be become very serious if the accused winds up hurting or killing someone in an accident.
For example, in any injury accident, a person will face a felony charge and the possibility of some time in prison.
If someone dies in an accident, the person may go to prison for up to 10 years. The possible prison term will be longer if more than one person dies or if the person who dies is not a passenger in the driver’s vehicle.
A person facing these charges may have legal defenses available. For example, in order for the prosecutor to prove an enhanced drunk driving charge, the prosecutor will have to show evidence that the alleged drunk driver negligently caused the accident.
Anyone facing these serious charges should consider evaluating his or her legal options carefully.