Like other states, Missouri takes drunk and drugged driving seriously. State lawmakers have enacted a range of different penalties for DUI offenses.
In the most serious cases, one drunk driving offense can be a felony offense and land a person in prison for over a decade.
The possible penalties for DUI will depend on a person’s history and circumstances
The possible penalties that a Kansas City resident will face after a drunk or drugged driving arrest will depend on whether they have prior operating while intoxicated offenses. It will also depend on the circumstances of the incident.
The laws imposing penalties for DUI can be complicated. They may also be difficult to apply to a given situation. It is best for someone charged with a felony DUI to review their case with an experienced defense attorney.
A person with prior DUIs will face stiffer penalties than someone who is going through court for the first time. Likewise, it makes a difference whether a person is arrested as part of a traffic stop or, on the other hand, after a serious or fatal car accident.
For example, someone who has at least 2 prior DUIs at any point in the past may face a felony charge and up to 4 years in prison, as well as a $10,000 fine.
More serious penalties are reserved for those with a long history of drunk or drugged driving.
Even first-time offenders can face prison for a DUI
Likewise, a person may face a felony offense, and similar penalties, if the person negligently causes an accident that leaves anybody injured, even if the person recovers fully.
What is scary even for those who have never been in legal trouble before is that, should someone die in an accident, the person could face between 5 and 15 years in prison.
As with any other DUI, a person will also face restrictions oronheir ability to drive a vehicle and may face other penalties as well.