Missouri takes sexual offenses very seriously. In addition to penalties, severe crimes have permanent effects, such as registering as a sex offender after fulfilling their designated prison time.
According to state law, any offender who committed severe sex crimes must complete registration after release from imprisonment.
It applies to felony sexual offenses, including the following:
- Statutory rape
- Sexual offenses involving a minor
- Promotion of prostitution
- Sexual exploitation
- Crimes involving child pornography
- Providing pornography to minors
- Publicly displaying explicit sexual materials
- Sexually endangering a child’s welfare
- Genital mutilation
Only convicted violators need to register after imprisonment. Sometimes, the offender might still need registration even if they are not guilty due to mental diseases or disorders.
Deadlines for registration
Generally, convicted offenders must register within 10 days after release or beginning their probation. Some offenders might move in from a different state, so they must register within 10 days of relocation.
However, how often they register could vary based on the circumstances. Repeat offenders would need to register every 90 days.
After receiving the registration, the chief law enforcement officer will relay the information to the Missouri State Highway Patrol’s Criminal Records and Identification Division. They must also inform any institution where the offender goes as an employee or a student.
Sanctions for failing to register
Failure to register according to the set deadline could result in misdemeanor or felony charges, depending on the offender’s criminal record. Failing to meet this requirement repeatedly could lead to imprisonment, ranging from 10 to 30 years.
Additionally, authorities could increase how frequently the offender must register. For example, a semiannual registrant might face 90-day intervals instead, taking effect for life.